School of Agricultural, Earth and Environmental Sciences

Staff

Dean & Head of School

Prof Fhatuwani Mudau


Before being appointed to this position at UKZN, Prof Mudau was working at the University of South Africa as a Professor in Crop Sciences (Phytomedicine, Fruit and Vegetable Science) and Chair of Department of Agriculture and Animal Health. He also acted as Director, Deputy and Executive Dean. He held previous academic appointments in his field in the Universities of Limpopo, Vista and Venda. Professor Mudau has served as a board member or leader of various bodies/societies. He is in possession of a PhD in Horticultural Sciences from the University of Pretoria. 

PA/Secretary: Ms Phumelele Mshengu  |  033 260 6476  |  mshengup@ukzn.ac.za

NameRoleEmailTelephoneLocation
Alistair ClulowBiophysical Sciences: 
Soil Science, Environmental Hydrology, Agrometeorology
Clulowa@ukzn.ac.za033 355 5510Office Number 112, First Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Julia SibiyaProduction Sciences: 
Crop Science, Horticultural Science, Plant Breeding, Plant Pathology, Animal and Poultry Science
sibiyaj@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6247Office Number 103, First Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Lembe MagwazaTeaching and Learning (Acting )magwazal@ukzn.ac.za031 260 5516Room F3 02 007
Level 2
Block F, Geography
Westville Campus
Michael GebreslasieGeographygebreslasie@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8276Office Number F3 02 007, Level 2, Block F, Westville Campus
Muthulisi SiwelaValue-Adding: 
Agricultural Economics, Dietetics & Human Nutrition, Food Security, Agricultural Extension and Rural Resource Management
siwelam@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5459Room B3a , Basement, Rabie Saunders Building, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Tesfaye BirkeGeological SciencesBirkeT@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8781Room 117
First Floor
H1 Building
Westville Campus
Trevor HillResearch & Higher Degreeshillt@ukzn.ac.za 033 260 5235Room 17
Third Floor
Science Building
Pietermaritzburg Campus
Management Staff
Innocent Shezi School Technical Manager – DBNshezizi@ukzn.ac.za031 260 5854/ 6074Room F2-02-003
2nd floor
F block, Westville Campus
Rajen PeterSchool Operations Managerpeter@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6075Room 27
Ground Floor
Rabie Saunders Building
Agriculture Campus, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Rajiv SinghSchool Technical Manager – PMBSinghra1@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5503Room 303
3rd Floor
Rabie Saunders Building
Agriculture Campus, Pietermaritzburg Campus
NameCluster/ DisciplineEmailTelephoneLocation
Biophysical Sciences
Alistair ClulowAgricultural Meteorologyclulowa@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5510Office Number 112,  First Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Susan Sheriff

Agricultural Meteorology

sherriffs@ukzn.ac.za Room 3
Ground Floor
Rabie Saunders Building
Agriculture Campus, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Zoleka Ncoyini

Agricultural Meteorology

ncoyiniz@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6395Office Number 107,  First Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Mark Horan   

Hydrology

Horan@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5918Office Number 341V,  Third Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Richard Kunz

Hydrology

kunzr@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6499Office Number 341Z,  Third Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Roland Schulze

Hydrology

kunzr@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6499Office Number 210A,  Second Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Seifu Kebede

Hydrology

kebedegurmessas@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6087Office Number 209,  Second Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Simphiwe Ngcobo

Hydrology

NgcoboS21@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6184Office Number 220,  Second Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Tinisha Chetty

Hydrology

chettyk@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6027Office Number 205,  Second Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Vivek Naiken

Hydrology

NaikenV@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6196Office Number 215,  Second Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Geography
Brice GijsbertsenGeographygijsbertsen@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5346Office Number 22,  Third Floor, Science Building, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Brij MaharajGeographymaharajb@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1027Office Number 363, Third Floor,  Memorial Tower Building, Howard College Campus
Dayle TrotterGeographyTrotterD2@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5089Pietermaritzburg Campus
Erwin SeibenGeographysiebene@ukzn.ac.za 031 260 8140Office Number F3 02 006,  Level 2, Block F, Westville Campus
Fatima AhmedGeographysiebene@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8140Office Number 19,  Level 2, Block F, Westville Campus
Jemma FinchGeographyfinchj@ukzn.ac.za 033 260 6374Office Number 12,  Third Floor, Science Building, Pietermaritzburg Campus
John OdindiGeographyOdindi@ukzn.ac.za031 260 5539Office Number 08,  Third Floor, Science Building, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Michael GebreslasieGeographygebreslasie@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8276Office Number F3 02 007,  Level 2, Block F, Westville Campus
Onisimo MutangaGeographyMutangao@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5779Office Number 7,  Third Floor, Science Building, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Serban ProchesGeographyprochess@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1278Office Number F3 02 021,  Level 2, Block F, Westville Campus
Sumaiya DesaiGeographyDesai@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2955Office Number 08,  Level 2, Block F, Westville Campus
Suveshnee MunienGeographymunien@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7653Office Number F3 02-004,  Level 2, Block F, Westville Campus
Geology
Andrew GreenGeologyGreena1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7924Office Number R1/22,  First Floor, H1, Westville Campus
Egerton HingstonGeologycarranzae@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2803Office Number R1/14,  First Floor, H1, Westville Campus
Emmanuel CarranzaGeologycarranzae@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2803Office Number 13,  First Floor, H1, Westville Campus
Jeremy WoodardGeologyhingstone@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2805Office Number R1/19,  First Floor, H1, Westville Campus
Lauren HoyerGeologyhoyerl@ukzn.ac.za031 260 6313Office Number 127,  First Floor, H1, Westville Campus
Molla DemlieGeologydemliem@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7380Office Number R1/25,  First Floor, H1, Westville Campus
Nonkululeko DladlaGeologyDladlan2@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2801Office Number R1/11,  First Floor, H1, Westville Campus
Palesa Leuta MadondoGeologyLeutap@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2517Office Number R1/21,  First Floor, H1, Westville Campus
Philani MavimbelaGeologyMavimbelap@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7081Office Number R1/29,  First Floor, H1, Westville Campus
Saumitra MisraGeologymisras@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2800Office Number R1/23,  First Floor, H1, Westville Campus
Tesfaye BirkeGeologybirket@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8781Office Number 117,  First Floor, H1, Westville Campus
Warwick WilliamGeologyHastieW@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2519Office Number 126,  First Floor, H1, Westville Campus
Production Sciences
Ignatius NsahlaiAnimal & Poultry Sciencensahlaii@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5473Office Number 127,  First Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Mariana Ciacciariello

Animal & Poultry Science

ciaccm@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5479Office Number 131,  First Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Michael Chimonyo

Animal & Poultry Science

chimonyo@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5477Office Number 125,  First Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Nicola Tyler

Animal & Poultry Science

tyler@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5475Office Number 129,  First Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Zikhona Rani

Animal & Poultry Science

tyler@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5475Office Number 130,  First Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Albert ModiCrop Sciencemodiat@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5199Office Number 11,  Ground Floor, Admin Building, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Alfred Odindo

Crop Science

odindoa@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5425Office Number 305,  Third Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Hussein Shimelis

Crop Science

Shimelish@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6474Office Number 104,  First Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Lembe Magwaza

Crop Science

magwazal@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5516Office Number 302,  Third Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Asanda Mditshwa

Horticultural Sciences

mditshwaa@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5504Office Number 309,  Third Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Isa Bertling

Horticultural Sciences

bertlingi@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5099Office Number 304,  Third Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Samson Tesfay

Horticultural Sciences

tesfay@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6108Office Number 117,  First Floor, H1, Westville Campus
Augustine Gubba

Plant Pathology

gubbaa@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5795Office Number 227,  Second Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Kwasi Yobo

Plant Pathology

YoboK@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5822Office Number 226,  Second Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Mark Laing

Plant Pathology

Laing@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5524Office Number 228,  Second Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Nokwazi Mbili

Plant Pathology

mbilin@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6396Office Number 108,  First Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Value-Adding
Lloyd Baiyegunhi

Agricultural Economics & Agribusiness

BaiyegunhiL@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5437Office Number 331,  Third Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Mark Darroch

Agricultural Economics & Agribusiness

Darroch@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5493Office Number 330,  Third Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Stuart Ferrer

Agricultural Economics & Agribusiness

stuart.ferrer@canegrowers.co.za031 508 7200Office Number 328,  Third Floor, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Suzanne Kunz

Agricultural Extension & Rural Resources Management

kunzs@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5468Room 109
1st Floor
Rabie Saunders Building
Agriculture Campus, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Blessing MkhwanaziDietetics and Human Nutritionmkhwanazib@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5453Pietermaritzburg Campus
Chara BiggsDietetics and Human Nutritionbiggsc@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6153Pietermaritzburg Campus
Joanne GalliersDietetics and Human Nutritiongalliersj@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5820Pietermaritzburg Campus
Kirthee PillayDietetics and Human Nutritionpillayk@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5674Pietermaritzburg Campus
Laurencia GovenderDietetics and Human NutritionGovenderL3@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6154Office Number B7C,  Basement, Rabie Saunders, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Muthulisi  SiwelaDietetics and Human Nutritionsiwelam@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5459Pietermaritzburg Campus
Nicola WilesDietetics and Human Nutritionwilesn@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5430Pietermaritzburg Campus
Penelope JariveDietetics and Human Nutritionjarivep@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5515Pietermaritzburg Campus
Susanna KassierDietetics and Human Nutritionkassiers@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5431Pietermaritzburg Campus
Thandi GumedeDietetics and Human Nutritiongumedeb7@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5067Room 110
1st Floor
Rabie Saunders Building
Agriculture Campus, Pietermaritzburg Campus
NameCluster/ DisciplineEmailTelephoneLocation
Howard College campus
Susan SheriffAssistant Administrative Officer: Geographysherriffs@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2416Howard College Campus
Pietermartizburg campus
Anusha MaikooAssistant Administrative Officer: Undergraduatemaikooa@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5792

Room 3
Ground Floor
Rabie Saunders Building
Agriculture Campus, Pietermaritzburg Campus

Kamendrie BalakistenFinance Assistant Administrative OfficerBalakisten@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5476Room 110
1st Floor
Rabie Saunders Building
Agriculture Campus, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Marsha ManjooAdministrative Officer: Postgraduate and Researchmanjoom@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5493/ 5343Room 108
1st Floor
Rabie Saunders Building
Agricultural Campus, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Phillipa McCoshPrincipal Administrative Officer  mccoshp@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5775 Room 4
Ground Floor
Rabie Saunders Building
Agriculture Campus, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Phumelele MshenguPrincipal Administrative Officer  mshengup@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6476Room 5
Ground Floor
Rabie Saunders Building
Agricultural Campus, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Precious SitholeAssistant Administrative Officer: Receptionsitholep@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5515Room 1
Ground Floor
Rabie Saunders Building
Agriculture Campus, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Rashika MaikooAssistant Administrative Officer: Undergraduatemaikoor@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5428Room 3
Ground Floor
Rabie Saunders Building
Agriculture Campus, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Shani RamroopAssistant Administrative Officer: Geographyramroopsh@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5341Room 18
3rd Floor
Science Building
Main Campus, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Suzanne KunzSchool Finance Officerkunzs@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5468Room 109
1st Floor
Rabie Saunders Building
Agriculture Campus, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Thandi GumedeFinance Assistant Administrative Officergumedeb7@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5067Room 110
1st Floor
Rabie Saunders Building
Agriculture Campus, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Westville Campus
Lungile NtolaAdministrative Officer: Teaching & Learningntolan@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1444Room 16
Level 2
F Block
Westville Campus
Megan MaistryAssistant Administrative Officer: Geological Sciencesmaistrym@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7322Room 3
Level 2
F Block
Westville Campus
Prievan DebyAssistant Administrative Officer: Geological Sciencesdebyp@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2516Room 3
Level 2
F Block
Westville Campus
NameCluster/ DisciplineEmailTelephoneLocation
 Pietermaritzburg Campus
Donovan KotzeCentre for Water Resources Researchkotzed@ukzn.ac.za Pietermaritzburg Campus
Duncan HayEnvironmental Sciencehay@ukzn.ac.za083 630 1749Office Number F3,  First Floor, Forestry Building, Pietermaritzburg Campus
Edilegnaw WaleAgricultural Economicswalee@ukzn.ac.za Pietermaritzburg Campus
Festo MassaweCrop Science and Food SystemsFesto.massawe@nottingham.edu.my Pietermaritzburg Campus
Frederick VeldmanDieteticsfrederick.veldman@smu.ac.z Pietermaritzburg Campus
Frits RijkenbergPlant Pathologyfrits@rijkenberg.org071 835 2434Pietermaritzburg Campus
John BowerHorticultural Sciencejosan@telus.net+1 604 363 2808Pietermaritzburg Campus
John DereraPlant Breeding & African Centre for Crop Improvementdereraj@gmail.com27 83 954 3616Pietermaritzburg Campus
Katherine VincentCentre for Water Resources Researchkatharine@kulima.com033 260 6584Pietermaritzburg Campus
Louis TitshallSoil SciencetitshallL@ukzn.ac.za083 625 2474Pietermaritzburg Campus
Luxon NhamoCentre for Transformative Agricultural and Food Systems (CTAFS),luxonn@wrc.org.za073 166 5859Pietermaritzburg Campus
Marvellous ZhouPlant BreedingMarvellous.Zhou@sugar.org.za031 508 7534Pietermaritzburg Campus
Nick Rivers-MooreHydrology (Centre for Water Resources Research)blackfly1@vodamail.co.za or RiversMooreN@ukzn.ac.za072 199 1472Pietermaritzburg Campus
Ondega Joel BotaiMeteorologyBotaiJ@ukzn.ac.za079 423 9097Life Science Campus
Pauline ScheelbeekSustainable Food Systems Pauline.scheelbeek@lshtm.ac.uk or ScheelbeekP@ukzn.ac.uk Pietermaritzburg Campus
Tafadzwanashe MabhaudhiCentre for Transformative Agricultural and Food Systems (CTAFS)mabhaudhi@ukzn.ac.za074 130 9845Pietermaritzburg Campus
Vincent ChaplotSoil Sciencevincent.chaplot@ird.fr+33 607652622Pietermaritzburg Campus
Westville Campus
Andrew  CooperGeologyjag.cooper@ulster.ac.uk031 260 2516Westville Campus
Carlos LoureiroGeologyoureiroc@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2516Westville Campus
Dereck JacksonGeologyd.jackson@ulster.ac.uk Westville Campus
Michael WatkeysGeologywatkeys@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2516Westville Campus
Stephen McCourtGeologymccourts@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2516Westville Campus