Edilegnaw Wale

Prof Edilegnaw Wale Zegeye Honorary Professor walee@ukzn.ac.za PhD Agricultural Economics, MSc Agricultural Development Economics, BSc Agricultural Economics Agricultural Economics Pietermaritzburg Campus Edilegnaw Wale Zegeye is Honorary Professor of Agricultural Economics, School of Agricultural, Earth and Environmental Sciences.. His research focus areas are the economics of water use in smallholder agriculture, natural resources economics / agro-biodiversity

Vincent Chaplot

Dr Vincent Chaplot Associate Professor +33 607652622 vincent.chaplot@ird.fr PhD, Habilittaion Soil Science Pietermaritzburg campus Investigations are performed at several spatial and temporal scales to account for the range of mechanisms and processes involved and their controls. For the later, his research seeks identification of  land use and land management strategies aiming at decreasing organic carbon losses from soils

Tafadzwa Mabhaudhi

Dr Tafadzwa Mabhaudhi Honorary Research Fellow 074 130 9845 mabhaudhi@ukzn.ac.za Ph.D. Crop Science, M.Sc. Agric. Crop Science, Exec. Certificate in Non-Profit Project Management, B.Sc. Agriculture Honours – Crop Science Centre for Transformative Agricultural and Food Systems (CTAFS Pietermaritzburg campus I am a boundary spanner with extensive experience in developing and maintaining internal and external relationships across academia,

Stephen McCourt

Prof Stephen McCourt Professor Emeritus 031 260 2516 mccourts@ukzn.ac.za BSc (Hons), PhD (Geology) Geological Sciences Westville Campus Steve McCourt is a respected and seasoned geological scientist and academic who immigrated to South Africa after completion of a PhD at the University of Exeter (UK) in 1975. Steve was a field geologist with the erstwhile Geological Survey

Pauline Scheelbeek

Dr Pauline F.D. Scheelbeek Honorary Research Fellow Pauline.scheelbeek@lshtm.ac.uk or ScheelbeekP@ukzn.ac.uk BSc, PGCert, MSc, MPH, PhD Sustainable Food Systems Pietermaritzburg campus Dr Scheelbeek is an epidemiologist, specialized on research on climate change, food systems and nutritional health. She is director of the WHO Collaborating Centre on Climate Change, Health and Sustainable Development – based at the London

Nick Rivers-Moore

Dr Nick Rivers-Moore Honorary Research Fellow 072 199 1472 blackfly1@vodamail.co.za or RiversMooreN@ukzn.ac.za PhD (Hydrology), MSc (Environment and Development/ EnvDev), BSc (Hons) (Entomology), BSc (Botany, Entomology) Hydrology (Centre for Water Resources Research) Pietermaritzburg Campus With a PhD in environmental hydrology, and as a Pr.Sci.Nat.-registered researcher and consulting aquatic ecologist, I have built up extensive expertise and professional experience working in river systems

Michael Watkeys

Dr Michael Watkeys Honorary Research Fellow 031 260 2516 watkeys@ukzn.ac.za BSc (Honours), PhD Geological Sciences Westville Campus Mike Watkeys has a BSc (Hons) (Univ. Wales,) worked for the Rhodesian Geological Survey, has a PhD (Univ. Witwatersrand) and was a post-doctoral researcher (Univ. Cape Town) before joining the Univ. Natal in 1989. He is the recipient of the AE Phaup Award (Geol. Soc. Zimbabwe) and the Jubilee Medal (Geol. Soc. S. Africa). He is an

Marvellous Zhou

Dr. Marvellous Zhou Research Fellow 031 508 7534 Marvellous.Zhou@sugar.org.za BSc Agriculture Honors, MSc Agriculture, MS. Applied Statistics, PhD Plant Breeding and Genetics Plant Breeding Pietermaritzburg campus I work as a sugarcane breeder for the South African Sugarcane Research Institute. I have more than 30 years sugarcane breeding experience. I have released 10 sugarcane cultivars in Zimbabwe and 27

Luxon Nhamo

Dr. Luxon Nhamo Honorary Research Fellow 073 166 5859 luxonn@wrc.org.za PhD: Environmental Sciences and Natural Resources Management with GIS and Remote Sensing, MSc: Environmental GIS & Remote Sensing, B.Sc. Ed: Geography Centre for Transformative Agricultural and Food Systems (CTAFS), Pietermaritzburg campus A Research Manager with the Water Research Commission (WRC) and an Honorary Research Fellow with

Louis Titshall

Dr Louis Titshall Honorary Research Fellow 083 625 2474 Louis.Titshall@icfr.ukzn.ac.za PhD (Soil Science), MSc (Environmental Science), BSc Hons (Grassland Science, Zoology), BSc Soil Science Pietermaritzburg Campus Dr Louis Titshall started his studies in rangeland ecology but developed an interests in environmental Soil Science, obtaining his PhD in 2008. He has since migrated into agricultural soil Science. He is presently a Senior