Blessing Mkhwanazi

Dr Blessing Nkazimulo Mkhwanazi Lecturer 033 260 5453 mkhwanazib@ukzn.ac.za PhD in Physiology (UKZN), MMedSci Physiology, BSc Honours Biochemistry, BSc Biochemistry and Microbiology Dietetics and Human Nutrition Pietermaritzburg campus Dr Mkhwanazi is a physiology lecturer in the discipline of Dietetics and Nutrition. He started his academic career as lecturer at the Durban University of Technology from

Nicola Wales

Dr Nicola Wiles Lecturer 033 260 5430 wilesn@ukzn.ac.za BSc Diet, PGDip Diet (Natal), MSc Diet, PhD (UKZN) Dietetics and Human Nutrition Pietermaritzburg campus Nicky joined Dietetics & Human Nutrition in March 2009 on a full time basis as part of the Leadership and Equity Advancement Programme (LEAP). She registered for her PhD in September 2009

Kirthee Pillay

Dr Kirthee Pillay Lecturer 033 260 6270 pillayk@ukzn.ac.za B.Sc Diet PGDip Diet B.Sc Diet (Hons) M.Sc Diet PhD Dirtetics and Human Nutrition Pietermaritzburg campus Kirthee qualified as a Dietitian in 1997. She started working at Grey’s Hospital as a Clinical Dietitian in 1998. In 2004 she left the position of Senior Dietitian at Grey’s Hospital

Chara Biggs

Dr Chara Biggs Lecturer 033 260 6153 BiggsC@ukzn.ac.za PhD BSc Masters Dietetics BSc Honours Dietetics Diploma in Hospital Dietetics BSc Dietetics BSc Biological Sciences Dietetics and Human Nutrition Pietermaritzburg campus Dr Biggs has been lecturing diet therapy at the University for 20 years and is responsible for the development and lecturing of the therapeutic modules

Muthulisi Siwela

Prof Muthulisi Siwela Associate Professor 033 260 5818 Siwelam@ukzn.ac.za BSc (Hons) (NUST), MSc PhD (Pretoria) PGDip Mgnt (UKZN) Dietetics and Human Nutrition Pietermaritzburg campus Prof Siwela joined the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN) in 2004 as a Lecturer in the Discipline of Dietetics and Human Nutrition. He was promoted to Senior Lecturer in 2010 and to

Susanna Kassier

Prof Sussana Maria Kassier Associate Professor 033 260 5431 kassiers@ukzn.ac.za PhD in Nutrition and Dietetics, MSc Dietetics, BSc Honours Dietetics (cum laude), Post Graduate Diploma in Hospital Dietetics (cum laude), BSc Dietetics Nutrition and Dietetics Pietermaritzburg campus Prof Sussana is a Head of Discipline, Associate Professor and Academic coordinator: 4th year BSc Dietetics and Human

Laurencia Govender

Dr Laurencia Govender Lecturer 033 260 6154 GovenderL3@ukzn.ac.za PhD Dietetics, MSc Dietetics, PgDip Dietetics, BSc Dietetics Dietetics and Human Nutrition Pietermaritzburg Campus Laurencia Govender is a registered dietitian, who obtained her BSc Dietetics, PgDip Dietetics, MSc Dietetics (summa cum laude) and PhD Dietetics at the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN). She is a Nutrition Lecturer in the Dietetics