SAEES Information for High School Learners and Future Students




UKZN’s School of Agricultural, Earth and Environmental Sciences is one of five Schools housed within the College of Agriculture, Engineering and Science. The bulk of the School is located on the lush and leafy Carbis Road campus in Pietermaritzburg.

The Westville campus hosts the disciplines of Geography and Geological Sciences, and Geography is also represented on the Howard College campus. This diverse School employs 80 full-time academic staff – many of whom are productive and internationally recognised researchers and gifted teachers – and 66 support staff . There are currently 1 313 undergraduate students registered, whilst 435 postgraduate students are engaged in Honours, Masters, Doctoral and Postdoctoral research.

The School’s world-class teaching and research facilities include laboratories on all three campuses, multi-million rand, cutting-edge research equipment, as well as a research farm located within 11 kms of the Pietermaritzburg campus. The School has a rich academic tradition in Agricultural Education, Environmental Sciences, Geography and Geology. Learning is delivered by a motivated team of dedicated academic staff, who ensure that students are inspired and emerge highly employable in their respective specialisations.



The School of Agricultural, Earth and Environmental Sciences has a three part mission of teaching, research and community engagement. The School strives to provide a learning environment that prepares students to acquire skills necessary for meeting societal needs. We seek to produce wholesome graduates who are not only technically qualified, but also have the critical and creative thinking skills to give them the competitive edge in the workplace. The School has had a significant influence on this continent for over sixty years – from pigs, poultry, papaws and pecans through to farm finance, fuel and food security.


Areas of specialisation within UKZN’s School of AEES include:


The School has two world class research centres in the African Centre for Crop Improvement and the African Centre for Food Security. The Farmer Support Group is also part of the School.



Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved